Program notes by D. Kern Holoman

Most of these notes were originally written for the UC-Davis Symphony Orchestra or derived from Berlioz (Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1989). Many appeared in French as program annotations for the Orchestre de Paris Berlioz 2003 cycle. I release these versions from copyright; please acknowledge in printed materials and notify me of their use.

Hol. 23: Les Francs-Juges
Hol. 26: Grande Ouverture de Waverley
Hol. 42: La Belle Voyageuse
Hol. 51bis: Chant du 9 Thermidor
Hol. 60: La Captive
Hol. 68: Harold en Italie
Hol. 75: Grande Messe des Morts
Hol. 76: Benvenuto Cellini synopsis
Hol. 79: Roméo et Juliette
Hol. 89: Les Nuits d'été
Hol. 90: L'Invitation à la valse
Hol. 95: Le Carnaval romain
Hol 109: Marche de Rakoczy
Hol. 111: La Damnation de Faust
Hol. 118: Te Deum
Hol. 133: Les Troyens synopsis
Hol. 138: Béatrice et Bénédict synopsis